top of page

College Prof Placed on leave after scolding a hard-of-hearing student

UPDATED WITH CORRECTIONS

A professor at Oxnard College in California has been placed on leaves after showing his frustration with a hard-of-hearing student during a Thursday Zoom class. In a video circling in social media, professor Michael Abram is heard saying:

"Why didn't you answer all the times I spoke to you then? You know, thank you. Thank you. Why don't we talk sometimes—why don't you email me? We'll set up a live zoom and we're going to have some real communication at some point and time. Maybe you can have your counselor join us? Okay? Do you hear me? Okay, wonderful, do that."

The student, identified as Ms. Salazar, apologizes and notes she is hard of hearing. The professor then talks over the student. When he finishes, another student speaks up to alert the instructor that the person is hard of hearing and says that having the information translated is causing a delayed response. But the professor blames the student not paying attention and ignores the comment about being hard of hearing. He says:

"Ms. Salazar, have your counselor speak with me because you've got too much distraction to even understand what's going on...Just have them teach you the whole class. That makes sense to me. I don't know, I don't understand it, but I see you laughing and smiling and giggling with somebody else."

Read more here.

Here is a version with captions but also with commentary at the end:



bottom of page