top of page

First Deaf Actor To Win Individual SAG Award

CODA star Troy Kotsur made Hollywood history on this date (February 27) in 2022.

Troy Kotsur is the first deaf actor in the history of the award show to claim an individual prize. He won in the category of Performance by a Male Actor in a Supporting Role. He was up against:

  • Ben Affleck (Amazon Studios’ The Tender Bar),

  • Bradley Cooper (MGM/UAR’s Licorice Pizza),

  • Jared Leto (MGM/UAR’s House of Gucci)

  • and Kodi Smit-McPhee (Netflix’s The Power of the Dog).

In his acceptance speech Kotsur said:

“Wow. Thank you so much to all the members of SAG. I am so proud to be a member. I’ve been a member since 2001, and so now I feel like I’m finally part of the family. I know you all are artists, and I know you all know what it’s like to be a starving actor. Back then, I used to sleep in my car. I slept in my dressing room backstage, I couch-surfed and all of that, you feel me, right? So, thank you so much. I’m so grateful to SAG [for protecting] us actors.”

bottom of page